top of page
  • Writer's pictureTavia

Before Salt Bush Lamb was Trendy

I grew up on a dry land farm in Country Victoria, Dad grew cereal for Kellogg's and SaltBush Lamb well before it was trendy!


The freezer was always stocked to the brim with Lamb, nose to tail, we didn't waste a thing. Sure we got roasts and loin(ys) but there's a bit more to a sheep than just the glamour cuts, you've got neck chops and shanks (back when they were dog food!), flaps, tongues and off-cuts, we used it all! Safe to say I hated lamb for a lot of years when I left home.


Apart from the BBQ cuts and the roasts, most of the others were cooked in Mums old crock pot, the old orange porcelain beast with the 70's floral design was part of the landscape atop the green laminate bench in the kitchen of my childhood. Many a lamb off-cut met it's destiny alongside luscious gravies and hearty stews, it was simple, soul food before salt bush lamb was trendy.


These days I'm still partial to an off-cut. Maybe its just deeply ingrained in me to buy the budget cuts, or maybe it's the thrill I get from creating something special from such a humble beginning. I'm not sure, maybe both, but one thing's for sure, the flavour and soul you get from an off-cut done well far exceeds a loveless piece of meat wiped across the BBQ any day in my book


I picked up these Lamb off-cuts from Woolies the other day (bargain!), I've already made slow cooked ragout with one lot but that's a story for another day. Today I'm going low and slow with a dry rub until it's falling off the bone and then teaming it with soft and crispy homemade flat bread and garlic sauce for a mixed up take on a lamb yiros. My cousin Rick from "No Beard Required" - American BBQ, is the absolute king of low and slow so I hope he doesn't read this, or if he does he's bound to cringe.




I made a comfy, tasty little bed for my lamb from brown onion and a bulb of garlic and then mixed up a dry rub and showed it some love.


Then It was into the Weber on low for three hours until it was juicy and tender and begging to be gently pried from the bone. I let it rest for an hour (#tavstips - You don't have to rest it this long just make sure you rest it for a minimum of 10 minutes for all the muscles to relax and absorb it's own juices) then I cut it all up, teamed it with my homemade flat bread (recipe below), sour cream and sweet chilli for me and garlic aioli for Woodsy..OMG YUM!



#tavstips We had leftovers that i'm going to turn into lamb pizzas for dinner tonight


Here's the low down :

What I Used:

2 packets of lamb off-cuts (#thequeenofsubstitutions You could use a lamb shoulder roast or lamb rump)

1 brown onion

1 bulb of garlic


For the Rub:

1tsp Garlic Steak Seasoning

1tsp Smoked Paprika

1tsp Linda's Curry Powder (#thequeenofsubstitutions You could use any type)

1tsp Vegeta Gourmet Stock Powder

1tsp Whole Pepper Corns


Grind together to form a smooth powder


What I Did:

Peel and quarter the onion

Cut the top of the garlic bulb off

Place onion and garlic in a roasting dish to make a comfy bed for your lamb

Massage plenty of dry rub into your lamb (I used all of it )

Place it all in the Weber on as low as it will go for approx 3 hours


Remove from the Weber, cover with foil and rest for a minimum of 10 minutes, carve and enjoy any way you like!



37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page